(WEEPS)
My dad has a couple of domains registered using eNom.com. It was originally done on his behalf by someone else but I’ve since helped him to “take control”.
Today he forwarded an email he received, asking if he should be concerned. It begins with “On Thu, 30 Oct 2008 00:05:53 +0700 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain” and then goes on to say they investigated, found the information to be incorrect and canceled the domain.
The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.
So I went to enom.com (directly, not via the link in the email…which, if you look, turns out not to be to enom.com) and they have a warning posted front and center.
The warning includes a link to an image of the text of the email (note that the plain text version they show reveals the bogus enom.com link).
So, if you’ve got any domains registered via eNom, beware of this scam. And remember to never follow the links (always go directly to the site) when you receive an email like this.
Comments are Okay